Ding Dong the Wicked Osama Bin Laden is dead!

As a former newspaper journalist, I have always noticed that news never comes at a convenient time. It usually comes just after you put out the daily edition or when you want to go home or when you want to go to bed — and so it goes with the joyous news that the evil Osama Bin Laden has been killed by U.S. forces.

I was driving my long haul truck through the night listening to some kind of comedy play on radio and then switched to some music and then decided to switch to KGO Radio out of San Francisco and heard the talk show host saying something about what effect the assassination of this guy in the Middle East would have (he was glad it happened, don’t misunderstand) and I did not immediately know who he was talking about. I thought it might be Gaddafi’s son who I believe was killed in the last day or so. I nearly fell out of my driver’s seat when I heard it was Bin Laden who was killed.

I wanted to blog right now, but my real job demanded I press on. And once I got to my destination for the night, my real need was to jump in the sleeper, but I could not resist doing a post on this, one of the biggest news stories in  a long time.

But all I have time to say now is thank you American armed forces, CIA, and others involved and congratulations President Obama.

Of course my immediate thought was: does this mean our wars in Afghanistan and Iraq are over? I mean for the past decade almost it has been we have to go after Osama Bin Laden (well actually the Bush administration gave up on that, publicly at least, some time ago — but he was the symbol of the evil we have been fighting against, with the war efforts continued by Obama (initially to the surprise of many, especially some of his more peace-minded and maybe now former supporters).

Had we been able to Kill Hitler early on we might have taken the steam out of the Nazi move toward world domination, but something tells me Al Qaeda is not just a one-man show. But a statement has been made. You can run but you can’t hide (forever). And the U.S. does not give up.

But I have to go to bed now.

One more thing, though: Did you hear about how some of his henchmen were hiding behind women as shields before they were killed? That certainly shows them for the cowards they are (were).

Ding dong the wicked Osama Bind Laden is dead.

Leave a Reply

