We need a president who can bridge the gap of the partisan divide…

As the voters of New Hampshire go to the polls in this 2016 presidential primary I have no idea what they are looking for. In fact, I have little idea of what voters anywhere in the U.S. are looking for.

And it does not help that I live in an almost political vacuum. I mean I get my politics off the internet, primarily on trusted, established news sites, and I keep track of national and world events but where I live politics seems not much discussed — well I do not socialize all that much, so maybe I cannot rightfully describe that, but I can say that where I live it seems to be assumed that you are Republican, conservative, and a gun rights advocate, and are against welfare bums. But not necessarily against unemployment benefits or disability benefits or social security.

But this assumption thing. I was at my dentist office, and possibly I misconstrued a comment, but I don’t think so. The dental assistant made some off-hand remark about someone being “an Obama lover” and that is all she said. But her tone told me it was left unsaid, but to be understood, that to be such was bad. I mean she might as well have said whoever this was loved Adolf Hitler or maybe Joseph Stalin. But then again, judging by her age, I imagine she never heard anything of or much about either.

For the record, I am neither an Obama lover or hater. I do think he did not come through with the things he said he would — but then again, is that not par for the course in politics regardless of political party?

But like I say, I don’t know what people want.

I for one would not mind seeing some of the Wall Street villains go to jail, but that won’t happen and it would not make my life any better, and it is not top on my priorities anyway — but I wouldn’t mind seeing it.

Actually I have few complaints. Like I said in a previous post, it’s been my history through life (now at 66 and counting) that my situation does not necessarily follow that of the traditional narrative of good times and bad. That is to say my good times and bad did not always follow that of the nation in general.

I am concerned about the fact that our government for whatever reason seems to promote an economy that offers fewer and fewer secure and good-paying jobs, and that manufacturing continues to go elsewhere.

And I am definitely concerned about the threat of terrorism and ISIS in particular.

In addition I am not a climate change disbeliever. I realize at times some predictions of doom might be overstated for two reasons: one, we just don’t always know the complete answer when it comes to mother nature, and two, sometimes some environmentalists may think you have to exaggerate to get action. But I will believe the majority of the scientific community before I believe right-wing politicians who cannot see beyond the next election or financial investment.

I am concerned about racial strife, and police brutality, and city officials in Flint, Mich. and elsewhere who would knowingly or carelessly or both allow a public water system to poison people, who just happened to be mostly black or minority.

Also I am concerned about a congress that cannot compromise on prudent budgeting so it has to come up with a plan whereby no one takes the blame if the defense budget is cut. With all of the world problems and we are cutting back on our military? that seems preposterous. But both Republicans and Democrats are to blame.

But you know? It’s all about people. The economy and jobs is really what it is all about. While I do not have a major problem with all that on a personal level, I am concerned for the nation.

We need a president who can bridge the partisan divide, put the security of the nation ahead of special interests, and who will look out for the interests of minorities, and who is not scientific adverse, and who believes that government must stay out of religion. It neither should promote it or deny it.

We need someone who is level-headed, able to get past the confines of rigid ideology and solve problems.

No we don’t want to be like the rest of the world. We want to be better.

I do think there are limits to what the government should and can do when it comes to social problems. Certainly we have to have a secure safety net. And the people through their elected representatives have a right to come up with a some form of cooperative health care protection, that is to say a safety net for those who can’t afford their own health insurance and regulations in the marketplace that don’t allow people to be excluded or to be gouged by unreasonable premiums.

Most modern industrialized nations have some form of socialized medicine or government-funded health care. But the U.S. is different in the way that the concept of health insurance has evolved. We could copy other nations but we have not. It seems some form of open market is preferred here. But health coverage is really a necessity, not something you just buy as a luxury or pass up if you cannot afford it. And it costs everyone if legions of people do not have it because sick and injured wind up in emergency rooms and the rates and the overload on the system is costly, so we must have coverage for aIl.

I don’t know who to believe about Obamacare, of which I do not seem to be directly affected, but to hear the common man on the street and of course GOP politicians, it is the greatest disaster since the plague. But I have yet to see the evidence. Problems can be corrected I am sure. I am suspicious because the GOP had plenty of opportunity to come up with a plan of its own and did not. Now many of the candidates claim to have their own proposed plans. It was bad enough people thought Obamacare was interfering with their insurance, now the GOP wants to destroy that and start all over. Watch the premiums go up then.

On gun control: I get it. People want to retain their right to own guns for self-protection from criminals who by definition would not obey gun control laws and of course hunters want guns to hunt and then there is the notion that we need to maintain a citizen arsenal to protect us from the tyranny of government. And I can see the point that once the camel gets its nose under the tent, that is to say once you go very far down the road to gun restrictions, it’s too easy to lose all your rights — gun confiscation in the name of public safety. But somehow I don’t think it is prudent to have automatic assault rifles so easy to obtain by crazies in our society, and furthermore why do people need them anyway? I could point out or argue that the Second Amendment is not really clear as to whether the right to keep and bear arms is within the context of a well-regulated militia (and does that mean a state-run militia? I would think or hope so) or simply on an individual basis — but I won’t get anywhere with that when discussing the matter with the gun rights advocates. I wish there was more clarity on all that. But this is not a major issue for me at this time.

I think the economy and jobs are the most important, and now that I have touched on it, I think having someone who could bridge the partisan divide and actually solve problems is the most important.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

